sweet justice
Dell D610
Intel Centrino (Pentium M) 2.13Ghz
1gb Ram
Ati Mobility Radeon X300

Mass Effect system requirements said:
Supported OS: Microsoft Windows® XP with SP2 or Windows Vista*
Processor: Intel P4 2.4 Ghz or faster / AMD 2.0 Ghz
Memory: 1.0 GB RAM or more (2.0 GB for Vista)
Graphics: DirectX 9.0c compatible, ATI X1300 XT or greater (ATI X1300, X1300 Pro, X1600 Pro, Radeon 2600 HD, and HD 2400 are below minimum system requirements); NVidia GeForce 6800 or greater (7300, 7600 GS, 8500 are below minimum system requirements)
Hard Drive: 12.0 GB or more free hard drive space
Sound: DirectX 9.0c compatible
DirectX®: 9.0c
so, if you have XP, probably.

ok. I have four other pcs, but this is my personal one. Ill try it. I saw steams specs, but wanted to make sure. Thanks! Im new to pc gaming besides guild wars.

Ok, its installed, and when it gets to the loading screen saying it cant find the pixel shader and it closes.

Ive installed it 3 times on my WIn 7 PC, user account control os off, im running steam as an admin, no dice. On my XP lappy i can get to the title screen, but it says "cannot compile global shader" and several lines of errors, then closes. IM *Can'tSayThisOnTV*ING MAD!

If I recall, the dual core minimum is on the Recommended Hardware list. So you should be fine. That being said the only issue I can think of is the XP, and I have doubts that made the game Vista/W7 only, so your are not likely to have any real deal breaker issues.

Crap. Well that's the only computer I can get to actually launch the game. My win 7 comp wont even run it. A quick google search (http://lmgtfy.com/?q=mass+effect+won%27t+launch) shows that many other people can't get it to launch, even after turning off user account control, running steam as an administrator, etc. Is there any way I can set it to work with my X300 laptop (the XP one) by tweaking with the settings of the game? I can access the config utility outside of the game.