Can i replace my Powersupply of my japanese PS1 SCEP 5500 ?

vaillian

Hi i am a noob in modding and this is kind of basic question to find answers to my problems which occurred. Can i replace my japanese Powersupply of my japanese PS1 SCEP 5500 with 5502 european version ? The reason why i am asking is because i imported my console from japan and tried to plug it in with a euro plug adapter but the console started to smocke. I dont know if the console is broken or only the powersupply?

https://downloader.disk.yandex.com/prev ... XXL&crop=0

I bought a new one 5502 where the euro plug is missing so my second question is,does the euro plug court really work with any electric device, since i hace dozzens others lying around?
http://files.cablewholesale.com/hires/10w1-133.jpg

this is what happened when i tried the adapter some days ago. Do you think the whole system is broken? Or only the powersupply?

Re: Can i replace my Powersupply of my japanese PS1 SCEP 550

The 'adapter' you used was only for the connection, to go from the US type socket to the EU plug, it's not a converter to take that 220v and knock it down to 120v, hence you hit the thing with the full 220v and killed the PSU.

The PSU is fried for sure, but as to it doing any damage past that though it's difficult to say, you'll have to install a working PSU and test it out. All of that electrolyte needs to be cleaned out of there first, and cleaned well. It's conductive and corrosive, so the last place you want it is anywhere on the motherboard. A few Q-tips and some rubbing alcohol will do the job.

Those PSUs are interchangeable, and yes you can use another cable for power, as long as the thing fits, it doesn't do anything special.

RDC said:
The 'adapter' you used was only for the connection, to go from the US type socket to the EU plug, it's not a converter to take that 220v and knock it down to 120v, hence you hit the thing with the full 220v and killed the PSU.