International Shipping

Seren

Formerly known as thelukestir
Hey guys, so I'm a total noob when it comes to shipping things. I know you guys do a lot of shipping (some from really out of the way places like australlia) and i was just wondering who you guys ship with and how much you have to pay for flat shipping or w/e. <3

I shipped the JB to Australia flat rate with USPS. It was packed quite throughly and the entire package weighed two pounds. I tracked it and insured it for $500.

The total price to ship it was around $70. It was pretty pricey, but it got there in one piece.

I used to work in shipping, specifically packaging and sending out mail-orders.

Packing your stuff

1. Pick a box that's much bigger than the item you're shipping, especially if it's going to travel to another landmass. You want at least a couple inches of packing material surrounding the item on all sides.
2. Choose your packing material wisely. Crumpled newspaper works well for light items, but it has too much give for heavier items. Brown paper is great for heavy things, but it's heavy on its own and will add to the cost of shipping. Peanuts stick to everything, and let items settle to the bottom of the box. Bubble wrap is my favorite because it's supportive but light. If it's something like a game console, wrap it in a couple layers of bubble wrap, tape the ends together like a candy wrapper, and then fill the rest of the box with either more bubble wrap or paper. Those air-puff bags are really great for filler because they weigh next to nothing, but unless you saved some from another box it's not economical for one-off home shipments.
3. Small crap gets lost in boxes. Bag small items in gallon food bags so they're easier to find. Small flat things, especially, love to find their way under the flaps at the bottom of the box.