Do It Yourself GAMEBOY Flash Cartridge - Custom Electronics

Gerry_MAN

Hi Folks, :mrgreen:

I'm trying to collaborate with other Electronics Hobbyists working on Flash Carts. I'm currently working on a Flash cart for the SEGA GameGear. I just completed one for the Gameboy. My Background is in Electronics and Robotics. I'm still having some issues with the FLash interface, but I'm making progress which is motivating. I'm also working on one for the Sega Genesis.

I find the main problem I'm having is getting the proper ROM chip pinout connections. Allot of the available connection diagrams found online, are put together by other hobbyists and are not always 100% accurate. But regardless, I'll be getting it functioning soon.

Anyone else an avid Electronics Hobbyist? I would love to trade research if anyone is interested.

I have just recently completed a 5 part Instructional Video that shows how to build a Standard GameBoy Flash cart. It also covers Flash Programming procedures using a Willem Programmer and an ATMEL AT49F040 4Mbit Flash Chip or (512Kb of memory storage).

I will be putting another video together for the Genesis Flash Cart version as soon as I finish. But would love to chat with others that have successfully built similar models.

The video below is PART 1 of 5 for the GAMEBOY Flash Cart:

I look forward to your replies,

Regards,
-Gerry

Yo, I'm a big time hobbyist and would-be Electrical Engineer.

I've actually looked a great deal into what you're doing now.
I've been programming for years, and when I started programming for the Gameboy and Gameboy color, I wanted to be able to test my results on actual hardware.
I originally planned on making my own Flashcart, but ended up buying one.

The simple reason being, space.
I'd LIKE to make a Flashcart with 32M Flash Memory, so it would be capable of storing ANY Gameboy or Gameboy Color ROM.
It is the largest size supported by MBC5.