~ Xbox Adventures ~

Ashen

GameCube Révolutionary
I will probably end up turning this into a worklog for my semi WIP Xbox lappy at some point. I'm going for low budget with this mod, so it probably won't end up being anything mindblowingly awesome. Still will be cool to have a xbox lappy, especially when I got most of the parts for free.

For now this will just serve as a nice place for me to Sega about what a pain in the ass this little Xbox has been so far. :D

So yea, I got an Xbox for free off a guy I used to work with a while back. His wife was going to throw it out because it "wasn't working" right all the time and he was nice enough to think of me. Its been sitting in my mad scientist workshop collecting dust for around 6 months now. As I'm at a bit of a standstill with my Fusion Micro until my cases and other parts arrive I figured I'd poke at this a little bit.

I'm no expert on Xbox hacks/stuff, I've softmodded 3 or 4 of them and upgraded the harddrive in my own personal Xbox once. I've never done a TSOP flash before or really even understood the point when softmodding was always so easy. Being that I want no disc drive in this and that apparenlty TSOP flashing makes swapping out hard drives a bit easier I figured I'd give it a go.

So I tear the little Playstation apart yesterday, figure out that its a v1.4 box with a winbond TSOP chip. I read some tuts and stuff on what I'll need, head over to xbins, prepare my "memcard" (my PSP) with the files I'll need to transfer over. Solder the points on the mobo to make the TSOP chip writable, put everything back together and plug it all in to my TV. Turn it on and insert my splinter cell disc so I can hack into the matrix and start the mod... No dice, DVD drive makes LOUD GRINDING noises. Great, I'll have to take the DVD drive out of my Xbox, no biggie... Except I forgot the drive in my Xbox is fobar'd also. flaxe!