Wii bit smaller: Revisions, Die shrinks, Layers, and more

Re: Wii bit smaller: Revisions, Die shrinks, Layers, and mor

I've never tried to print anything that thin before. I'm sure u could but smaller traces become more difficult at a diy level. Its a flexible PCB. U can design your ribbon in eagle PCB and print it out on a solid ink printer, then dip it in etchant to develop it. The best material for this is lf9120 1 oz. Cu, 1 mil adhesive, 2 mil kapton. It thick enough to not wrinkle too easily causing problems when printing, and thin enough to feed through the printer.

If you solder a piece of solid wire into a vio, mosfet, or anything you can get to, you can overlay the kaplon and use solder paste to connect your overlay to the board(use soldet paste to keep from desoldering your jumper. You cannot get to anything below after this unless you heat it up to desolder your jumper, and start over with your ribbon/ flexible board) you can bring what you want together to a connector to your new board, or down back into your board through a different jumper.

You will need to anchor the overlay usually using the scew holes and a stand off peg. Getting the tiny jumpers through is the hardest part. Ancor it, then solder paste.Basically u can add your own layer to the board. They are one or two layers as well.

There's an instructable on reverse engineering a circuit board that's really useful for turning your scans into manipulable vector lines, to separate groups of components that you would like to separate and make into a separate pcb. Make sure to color the points for soldering to the original board on the schematics and original pictures of the board with matching color codes. I use the kapton to bring these points together and bring them over to a new board. I've never done anything as complicated as a Wii, so I'm not sure how well it would work...