Help understanding Zenlocks 1700mA GC draw regulator.

So I had a thorough read through Zenlocks thread on regulators but have been left a bit confused I think some pictures have expired and I couldn't really find an explanation as to how you can get the gamecube to only draw 1.7A. From what I can tell from reading the thread is that you need to supply separate Voltages to the GPU and CPU to draw such low amperage. I was really hoping someone could talk me through it so I can get a better grasp on what I need to do. Any help would be much appreciated.

I'm no expert and have only ever region modded a GameCube, but I can maybe provide a bit of insight. First of all, the regulator isn't any more efficient, it has the ability to output the required voltages at a lower input voltage, which is good because it lets you use smaller batteries. An unmodded GameCube still regulates those voltages with onboard regulators and sends them to the different components, it just takes a higher input voltage at a lower amperage to operate. This regulator can do it at lower voltages and higher currents. Power = voltage x current, so powerwise it's about the same, but it lets you use a lower voltage which means smaller batteries.

Last edited:
I'm no expert and have only ever region modded a GameCube, but I can maybe provide a bit of insight. First of all, the regulator isn't any more efficient, it has the ability to output the required voltages at a lower input voltage, which is good because it lets you use smaller batteries. An unmodded GameCube still regulates those voltages with onboard regulators and sends them to the different components, it just takes a higher input voltage at a lower amperage to operate. This regulator can do it at lower voltages and higher currents. Power = voltage x current, so powerwise it's about the same, but it lets you use a lower voltage which means smaller batteries.