So I'm an EMT now.

Twilight Wolf

Frequent Poster
Yep. I passed my EMT-Basic course with an A, got a certificate of completion from the company that was providing it, and yesterday a state EMS representative oversaw my class's skills assessment. I passed. One more written test and I have a certification that's good anywhere in the entire United States.

I'm pretty proud of myself. This is the most seriously I've taken any of my post-high school education thus far and it really paid off. My class was kickass as well -- lots of great people to work together with, and my instructor was totally amazing. The material wasn't easy but she made it understandable and fun, and since she's actually a paramedic we learned why we're learning everything. I'm actually sad it's over, because it was fun.

Next step? I'm gonna try to become a Special Events medic and work for this company at least over the summer, which means I'll not only be putting my skills to use and possibly saving lives, but I'll be getting paid to attend all the neat flax Reno has going on. Then in the fall I'll apply for their EMT-Advanced course, which my EMT-B instructor will also be teaching.

So yeah, just wanted to share that with you guys. That's also why I've been somewhat inactive the past few months.

Try going for a paramedic some time. My father was one and my brother is a fireman/paramedic and they both really enjoy(ed) the paramedic jobs.

If you go to be a paramedic you would have to learn a bit more about drugs as you'd be giving them, and you would have to go through ALS procedures and whatnot.

Also I'm sure when you do ambulance runs you'll be able to tell lots of stories of encounters, from stupid to gruesome.

Thanks, guys! ::3: