DIY LED projector

well i wouldn't use the 3.5" screen as that would be flux. was thinking something along the lines of a small 7" VGA screen with composite input. or a PSone screen

Read the directions, jlee. It tells you how to use a chipod or some flax.

Thus, that instructable will suck.

DIY projectors CAN be good, though. ;) Ask Hailrazer, I think he knows more than the rest of us put together on the subject.

PalmerTech said:
Read the directions, jlee. It tells you how to use a chipod or some flax.
Lolwut?

PalmerTech said:
DIY projectors CAN be good, though. ;) Ask Hailrazer, I think he knows more than the rest of us put together on the subject.
Now that's debatable ;)

Does a single LED even have enough power to get you a good image with a good brightness level through a 7" screen?

Jlee, you know you're talking to a noob here, lol. I really don't know much what that means in terms of brightness, but I do know 30W is a flaxload. I guess that's why the led needs a heatsink, lol.

I remember seeing this instructable a while ago, the quality of the projectiom really looked flax to me tbh.

jleemero said:
PalmerTech said:
Now that's debatable ;)

I guarantee I do ;)

I've built 7. I've moderated at the LumenLab forum for years. I had a 1080p DIY projector when 1080p projectors costs over $15,000 minimum.

I helped invent the Antiglare Removal Techniques used by many people now.

I can build one in my sleep.

But enough about me :)

And to agree with Palmer , this projector would look like crap. A 640x480 (and that scren is most likely 320x240) Lcd will have huge screendoor effect on anything bigger than 50". And a 1800 lumen LED will get you less than 10 lumens on the wall. You will only be able to see that in a completely dark room.

But it still is a neat project to see how a projector works and all.

ShockSlayer said:
$5 says hailrazer could build a functioning bat-signal.

SS

I do have several 1000 watt Metal Halides and ballast laying around. LOL