Nintendo DS Joystick

Hello everyone =) I'm new to the whole modding scene and just started on my DS (though I'm getting pretty depressed because I keep running into invulnerable screws that are immune to the touch of a screwdriver or drill......)

Anyways I plan on making this mod pretty incredible (It has to be......it's going to have a theme based on The Joker :D ) and I wanted to add all the stuff that I wanted the DS to have that it never did.....starting off with a joystick. Now I'm working with the original Nintendo DS. I know it's possible to add a joystick, but I have yet to see a tutorial on how to do such a thing. I would like to add it below the D-pad.

Anyone care to help me out?

You can add a joystick.

But it's not a good idea. I'll tell you why. You don't get analog control. You get very clumsy digital control. I'll explain tomorrow if nobody else does.

By joystick, do you mean analog stick? That wouldn't work. You can't invent an input method if it doesn't exist. You could have a joystick, but it wouldn't be analog, it would be like a d-pad. It wouldn't see how far you were tilting it, just how much you were. Also, it would be hard to close unless you had one of those crappy psp-like nibs. Plus, there might not be enough space in there.

I remember someone that tried to convert the touch screen into an analog stick, but I don't remember anything coming of that, and it looked really complicated and hard.

Also, if it was below the d-pad, that would be a bit cramped.

Edit: if you really want to try converting the touch screen to an analog stick, here's a link to a replacement touch screen thing.
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3259