mini GameCube

Blargaman91

I made a tiny GameCube that is basically a regular console but without the less-used features. I made it with some time on my hands using a spare case and spare parts:

f9jqd1.jpg

n1pbgp.jpg

dfbo7l.jpg

It consists of a trimmed heatsink, a trimmed DOL-001 motherboard, original regulator, composite and S-video out, 4 player ports and memory card slots A and B, and a genuine Wiikey Fusion, all inside an SL-68 from polycase. It's all done by hand and not painted, thus it is pretty ugly in places.

I didn't think the Wiikey worked anymore since I trashed it years ago, but I was able to tidy it up and solder it directly, which I've never done before:

2z59niv.jpg

I totally messed up the area around the power button. I didn't have the right drill bit for that or the controller ports so I had to think of alternatives, and neither went very well. At least it works as intended. I'm considering selling it if anyone doesn't mind the ugly or the chance of hot glue bonds failing inside.

Sorry, I will not be selling this anymore.

bentomo said:
Wavebird support? Isn't the memory card slot going to block it?
...yeah. I have never owned a wavebird so that never occurred to me.

Functionally pointless, yet absolutely wonderful.
Your soldering on that wiikey fusion is incredible. It ain't pretty, but you should bring that to a melee tournament as a game setup, and watch peoples heads explode.

Peoples heads explode if you have LEDs in your controller. Not many modders overlap with competitive smash.

Re:

DuHasst0 said:
Most smash players would tell you that it needs the DD and that the wkf introduces lag.

Not sure if satire, but that is very incorrect.