I'm a blacksmith.

βeta

ModRetro Legend
7119_132190741710_519386710_3008761_1631911_n.jpg

Just finished building this forge in front of my garage yesterday. I'm not good at this whole "summary" business, so ask me questions and I'll talk about what I did and how! :D

EDIT: I can think of something to say.

Anvil: It's a 110lb anvil that was given to us. It's REALLY heavy. Needs to be refinished, the top isn't very smooth. Gotta figure out how to do that.

Blower: It's a lancaster hand crank centrifugal blower. It's about 100 years old. Bought it off of another blacksmith for $250. (The only thing I paid for) Most people go the cheaper route and use a small vacuum or something as an air source, but that's not my style. I wanted to have a silent forge. Also, I have much more control over airflow and temperatures because it's not a constant electric source.

Fire bowl: It's a brakedrum from a semi truck.

The stands: They're made of 2x3s and 3/4" ply. They were really fun to make because of all the angles required to get the tilted legs. (for stability)

Fuel: It's Kingsford charcoal, but that's just was on hand. It's going to run REAL coal as soon as I get some. Charcoal works, but not as well, and there's lots of sparks.

Metal: It's a railroad spike. I'm making it into.... nothing. I don't know, I'm just experimenting. It's my first time on a forge.

Grinding wheel in background: It's a treadle-powered grinding wheel. It was for sale as a lawn ornament on someone's front lawn, and I snagged it for $35. It's not really useful for smithing, but it sharpens a mean axe.

That's all I can think of, ask questions!

That... is awesome.

I always wanted to try my hand at making knives/swords in this manner... is that what you're aiming at?

Armor first.