I'm a Beginner: Any help?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey ModRetro community!
I've been reading this forum for a few days now, and modding seems like something I'd really like to get into. The only trouble is, I really don't know all that much about, well, modding. I can easily run down to the hardware store and pick some things up.

Any suggestions on equipment to buy?

Any small projects to help me hone the craft?

Honestly, anything would really be helpful. Thank you for your time, and I hope that none of you are smacking your foreheads at my shockingly little knowledge.

Well, for starters, you should have some basic tools:

Soldering Iron
Dremel or a drill, preferably both
Screwdrivers with all kinds of bits (the more the better)
Desoldering iron

You should practice soldering wires to dead boards to get used it, if you've never soldered before. You can also practice with motors and batteries, simple switches, yada yada until you think you have the hang of it.

If you want an easy project, you can try backlighting a gameboy, or LED modding a home console, or something similar. Anything that requires little soldering or case work is perfect for getting some practice in.

If you want to get into portablizing, which is the most common type of modding done here, then get an idea of what system you'd like to fiddle with. If you're an n64 aficionado, or even if you aren't, it's not a bad place to start. I lot of people like this system and will offer you a lot of help.

Sorry for the late reply. Welcome to the forums!

Thanks!
I found a soldering iron that was still in its package in my garage. It's a 25 Watt Weller.
Where's the best place to buy a dremmel and a desoldering iron? Home Depot?

Also, whats the best solder to use for modding?

Casillas444 said:
Thanks!
I found a soldering iron that was still in its package in my garage. It's a 25 Watt Weller.
Where's the best place to buy a dremmel and a desoldering iron? Home Depot?