How do I find work that doesn't make me hate myself?

laingsoft

Formerly SteamDNT
Seriously?

I've been freelancing, and it feels like I'm selling my soul for pennies on the hour.

I've been interning, and it feels like I'm having creativity and happiness strangled out of me.

I've dabbled in managing, and thought about opening liquor stores, but it feels disgusting to perpetuate and profit off of alcoholism.

Academia has an absolutely incredible power to completely isolate anyone and everyone.

How do I find a balance of morality, job fulfillment, and actual wealth?

SteamDNT said:
I've dabbled in managing, and thought about opening liquor stores, but it feels disgusting to perpetuate and profit off of alcoholism.

I work in the gambling industry, and a lot of my customers clearly have problems controlling how much money they spend gambling but that's not really my fault so.

Kickback said:
SteamDNT said:

I work in the gambling industry, and a lot of my customers clearly have problems controlling how much money they spend gambling but that's not really my fault so.

But that doesn't make you feel like absolute flax? It isn't fair to them, it's like shooting fish in a barrel. Where's the line then?

Selling Scam Adware? Well that's just because old people don't know how to use computers, not really my fault so...
Selling bullflax Self-Help books? Well if people really want to get better they should go see a therapist, not really my fault if they waste their money

SteamDNT said:
Kickback said:
SteamDNT said:

But that doesn't make you feel like absolute flax? It isn't fair to them, it's like shooting fish in a barrel. Where's the line then?

Nope, they have problems they need to get through.

I have bills that need paying and I have a job that pays them.

Such is life.