Help with 555 timer chip

CeZe1

So first off I am a beginner when it comes to this stuff and Ive only done very simple things up until now. This for me anyway is the most complicated project I have ever taken on. Im at a stand still. What you see in the pic is an N64 controller. Im am trying to connect a one shot timer to the C-Down button(CD) marked with the red circle. I already know where the ground and power wires are going to go but I dont exactly know where the Trigger and Output wires will go..

The green circle marks the end of the trace for the CDown but its so small of a piece I cant imagine not getting solder on the other pins. So there must be another way. Where the blue is circled I had an idea to maybe cut the trace and create two solder spots by sanding off the solder mask and just sort of by passing that area so the signal goes into the chip that back to the trace and into the center. Its a small area to work with and I imagine I would probably cut the C-Right Trace too, which is fine since I dont need it.

Also note the gold dot above the CDown button is the Signal, can I solder the wire to that? Or would it disrupt the signal?

Again, I am beginner and I know im biting off more than I can chew, but its a fun project and I really enjoy this sort of thing. Hopefully I can get some help

Thanks

I have a question before I can provide help, what exactly do you want to trigger the 555 timer? Do you want the button itself to trigger the 555 timer, and have the 555 timer delay the button press?

The_Next_Guy said:
I have a question before I can provide help, what exactly do you want to trigger the 555 timer? Do you want the button itself to trigger the 555 timer, and have the 555 timer delay the button press?

Hey thanks for the quick reply. Sorry I suppose I should have explained my intentions.