Fried screen, wrong pinout?

skinkt

I bought a 7in tv screen, that worked just fine with my gc (Im starting to build a portable). That until I tried to power it from the gc motherboard. The manuals say it runs from 9-12v, so I just ran it from the back of the power plug in the mobo (V+,V-)

7bZQi0hl.jpg

I soldered the other end to the VDD and GND spots on my screen motherboard, and as soon as I turned the gc on, a mini explosion sound came from the screen. It didnt work anymore, the power light turns on, and the backlight too, but the screen is dimmed with strange lines, and it gets HOT. Did I connect the wrong spots? I thought VDD was positive, but Im a noob at this. Or 12v was too much for the screen?

IdGoJ2yl.jpg

SqVbCZPl.jpg

abIjWEal.jpg

bD1oOBkl.jpg

lYqREV3l.jpg

btw Im not planning to put batteries, just power the screen from the gc..

Sorry about this, but yeah you killed your screen.

VDD is NOT the power in! There should be a port somewhere on the screen's board that says "12V+" or "VIN" and "12V-" or "VOUT" which are power and ground respectively.

Yeah you just fried it now that I really look at what you did. Those pads are used for programming one of the chips on that board.

7yru5egy.jpg

In the image is where the power goes. You would have needed to figure out positive and negative on the board on the other side of that connector. Also, you could have found the regulator that goes to and see what it output and the drop the voltage your self there at whatever that regulator was outputting.

DuHasst0 said:
Yeah you just fried it now that I really look at what you did. Those pads are used for programming one of the chips on that board.

7yru5egy.jpg