First N64p (Commission)

(To view any image in full size just click it)

So I was commissioned to make an N64 portable although admittedly I've never made one before, but decided to give it a try anyway :)

For proof that I've never done one of these before, here's my first attempt at relocating the cartridge slot:

I ended up figuring out the correct way to do it in the end, so here's my progress.

Overview of all the wiring:

Cartridge slot to be relocated to the top of the portable:

Power wires with labels:

Universal AV output:

Player 1 wires with labels:

LED extended with wires:

LOB64 wires with labels:

Custom LOB64 cable:

And finally, here's the overall design I'm going for. It'll be using a 7" screen with an aluminum Wii U Gamepad case as the case:
image.png

The LZ and RZ are both just Z buttons although I may just limit it to one on the right side, but it could be good for if someone were left handed.

Seems good for a first portable, maybe two things I would not do like you want:

1. The power button should not be close to other buttons, there's risk that you press it while playing, would put in in a corner(like 3ds) or on the side of the portable(like a gameboy).

2. To make your portable smaller, I would cut the controller ports away and use a little case to put them in with an external plug, like bacteria did some times. You can use a playstation a/v plug, it has 12 pins and you have 12 pins with 4 controller ports, so you would be able to remove them when you use it has a portable and plug them when you use it has a normal n64.

supersonic_32 said:
Seems good for a first portable, maybe two things I would not do like you want:

1. The power button should not be close to other buttons, there's risk that you press it while playing, would put in in a corner(like 3ds) or on the side of the portable(like a gameboy).