The Modcube X Official Worklog

Xypter

Hey all, my name is Xypter and I have decided to start working on my very first portable called The Modcube X. I have been browsing the ModRetro for about six months now gathering information and trying to make sense of all the technical jargon that is said around here. Luckily I have gained a lot of knowledge by just reading the worklogs; but of course this is definitely not enough to JUST research, you have to get your hands on experience and actually start the project.

Knowing this, I decided to start my project about 2 months ago. I bought all the necessary tools I needed to get right to work and got my gamecube ready to take apart. As of recently, I have finally managed to get time to start working on this project more deeply and now I have come here to write a worklog and show you what I've done so far.

Here are the components I plan to integrate into my project:

Replacing the disk drive with the wiikey fusion
A custom vacuum formed case (or a ZN-40/ZN-45 with drilled holes)
6x 2600mah Lithium-Ion Batterys (unless there are any better batteries that give me some good playing time)
Zenl0c's Custom Regulator (for better battery efficiency)
Internal memory between 64/128MB
Gamecube component cable modded to output VGA (I heard that gives me good quality)
Modding analog sticks and sliders
Headphone Jack
4 Controller Ports
AV Out (To play this sexy thing on a screen)
SD Gecko
5' screen

Aaand that's all I can think of so far. Here are some pics of what I've done so far:
The cube I am using is a DOL-101 CPU-50 so I know for sure it has its regulator on the motherboard and is compatible with a wiikey fusion
o4uh.png

Here's my workspace. I have tons of space to work in so that won't be an issue thankfully.
uk6m.png

For now I don't have a screen to test things on but I do have this nifty projector with AV plug ports. Not sure how old it is but that doesn't matter to me, it does the job.
60do.png