New to modding

Kbs

Newb
Hey everyone, I've been wanting to mod electronics for a while now and decided to sign up. I don't have any experience with the hardware aspect of electronics, I've always stayed on the software side of things. Anyways, I'm hoping to pick up the necessary tools to get started but some help would be appreciated.

I'm not too worried about tools because there's a ton of topics regarding tools to get started...Although, what's a good soldering iron when working with handhelds and (when I'm not a complete noob at this...) consoles. I think I've read something around 25w is good? Oh, and what kind of solder is best?

Also, what are some good projects to get started with? I'm assuming LED swaps would be easiest...but anything else?

Finally, I hate to admit it but I think I would have to buy a book about electronics and actually read it :rolleyes:. Would something like Electronics for Dummies (ugh...) be good enough, just so I have an understanding of watts, resistors, etc? And what about Ben Heck's book? It's a few years old but does it still have some good information in it?

Thanks a ton guys and sorry for the semi-long post.

Kbs said:
Hey everyone, I've been wanting to mod electronics for a while now and decided to sign up. I don't have any experience with the hardware aspect of electronics, I've always stayed on the software side of things. Anyways, I'm hoping to pick up the necessary tools to get started but some help would be appreciated.

Welcome! I'm likin' the good grammar and spelling.

I'm not too worried about tools because there's a ton of topics regarding tools to get started...Although, what's a good soldering iron when working with handhelds and (when I'm not a complete noob at this...) consoles. I think I've read something around 25w is good? Oh, and what kind of solder is best?