Modding Overview for Complete Noobs

zack

Wanting to build a portable gamecube but are a complete noob?
Do you feel confused by all the bits and pieces of information scattered out there?
If you want some general info on where to get started with portable modding, and an approach to modding with and overview of EVERYTHING, you're reading the right thread. Here I attempt to list all the multiple parts and steps that go into a portable gamecube and explain each one to the best of my knowledge.
DISCLAIMER: For complete noobs!

1. Taking Apart your Gamecube.
Here you have two options. One is to buy a Gamebit screwdriver on eBay. These are screwdrivers or screwdriver bits that fit those funky screws on the bottom of your gamecube. I would recommend this if you plan on taking apart multiple gamecubes, or if you end up frying multiple cubes like I did, in which case you'll wish you made the investment early on.
Option #2 is to go total Macgyver mode and use a Bic pen. Get a plastic pen made out of the harder type plastic (Bic cristal works great). Take out the ink and internals so it's just the plastic, and use either a lighter or a heatgun to melt the plastic on the tip of the pen. Quickly shove the pen into the gamecube's screw hole, and firmly press down for a few seconds until it hardens. Be sure to wait a few minutes so you know it's completely hardened. That's all what she said
The idea here is to form the melted plastic around the screw and create your own custom screwdriver. It can wear out pretty quick though, so you may have to repeat the process a few times.

2. The Motherboard