Game Engines

samjc3

#1 Female Member
Ive finally decided to act on a game concept Ive been working on for several months. That requires deciding on an engine. Ive narrowed it down to 3:

Source
Unity
Unreal

In theory, all 3 should work for what I need.

I am partial to source, as I am already pretty good in Hammer, and I love Valve. However, theres some drawbacks. one of the main ones is level size. I know that hammer has the level size capped, and that the capped size is smaller than i need. I also know that the big levels can cause lots of lag. However, as proven by Half Life 2, the engine does support Dynamic loading; I just dont know how easy it is to get working. In addition, theres some modeling woes with convex objects.

Unity is Relatively new, and I dont know much about it, but looking at their tech demos, its pretty good stuff. It has some really nice features, if they actually work. There is the downside of the yearly $1500 license. however, that license allows full access to everything, and you can publish as much as you want, on any of the supported platforms (Mac, Windows, iPhone, Droid, Wii) with no extra licensing fees.

Unreal is good stuff. I know it can do what I want, and UDK is free, as long as I stay non commercial. Theres no downside here, so far as I know.

Bit of background on what I am trying to do:

Im not going into any detail here, but the gameworld will need to be able to change from grayscale, and blocky ness to colour and good detail. In addition, certain things would need to be blocked out, but when the world changes, they would become visible. (Like a doorway. when the world is greyed out, it would just be a wall. you couldnt see the doorway, but you could walk through it, because it is there, and as the world gains clarity the doorway would become visible). I am not sure which engine is best suitd to that kinda change. What do you guys think.