Tchay's Glorious Transition to Software Modding

Tchay

Frequent Poster
I'll probably need to find a good forum for game hacking, but I figured I'd post here as well.

I'm very interested in moving into game hacking/coding as a new hobby. I'd love to be able to add new objects (with collision) into certain games on the Gamecube and N64. I'm also interested in remaking/remastering portions of an SNES game. I'm learning Maya, but need another 6-12 months before being proficient.

I know some basic C and pic asm. In the next 6 months I will be getting good at python, C, ARM asm, and probably some misc coding.

My question is, what's a good place to dive into this hobby? If anyone has played around with gamecube or N64 coding. I'm a noob in this field.

Re: General question about game hacking/coding (N64/GC)

Holy flax you are an awesome learner.

XCVG said:

I'm taking two classes (C and python), well I'm also taking a comp org class, so the hope is that I actually learn something and can apply that knowledge :p and since I already know pic18 asm, I'm hoping I can teach myself ARM asm.

Get IDA and tear apart some MIPS/PPC binaries. its a long and arduous path

Tchay said:
XCVG said:

I'm taking two classes (C and python), well I'm also taking a comp org class, so the hope is that I actually learn something and can apply that knowledge :p and since I already know pic18 asm, I'm hoping I can teach myself ARM asm.
ooh, are you about to learn about architecture?

marshallh said:
Get IDA and tear apart some MIPS/PPC binaries. its a long and arduous path
Is IDA pro 6.1 good enough for what I want?

@grossaffe, the class is titled comp org but from the syllabus, it seems like he's just going to go over integer basics, looping, and assembly stuff. Kinda weird, but I am self taught on architecture thanks to a good youtube vid and book Beta showed me.