Rumble pack... Without batteries?

Shawn7656

I'd like to mod my 3rd party rumble pack so I don't have to use batteries. I remember there being a way to solder the battery wires somewhere else, but I can't really remember (I watched someone do it when I was 8 or 9). As the brand-name sticker was peeled off before it was in my possession I've no idea who made it. However, here are some pics of its innards so you guys can have an easier time helping me.

This is the whole thing
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/29446716/DSC00943.jpg

These are the wires to the batteries
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/29446716/DSC00944.jpg

This is the chip
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/29446716/DSC00945.jpg

And this is the bottom of the chip
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/29446716/DSC00946.jpg

I'm okay with you editing these pics for the use of showing me where and what to do. If you need more or closer pictures I can arrange for that (I'm a photographer :cool: )

Thank you in advance!

I think the Rumble Pak takes 3.3v in somewhere, you might be able to run the motor (rumbly bit) off of that, depending on how much it draws on a startup. You'll need to figure out what pin(s) is/are power on that connector though, and for that I'll need some clearer pictures of the traces under the motor wires, as well as the entire underside (the side with the big black PAL chip). I don't know how good you are at desoldering, but also helpful would be a pic of that underside without the chip.

Which pin is 15? Do you have a pinout for the rumble pak, or did you just spit out the first thing that came up on Google?

pinout, numbered according to the silkscreen markings
on the controller's PCB:

Pin Name Note
-----------------------
1 Ground
2 A14 (1)
3 A12
4 A7
5 A6
6 A5
7 A4
8 A3
9 A2
10 A1
11 A0
12 D0
13 D1
14 Detect (2)
15 3.3v
16 D2

17 Ground
18 Unknown 1 (3)
19 A15
20 /WE
21 A13
22 A8
23 A9
24 A11
25 /OE
26 A10
27 D7
28 D6
29 D5
30 D4
31 3.3v
32 D3

That is from here, and I found that here.

Aux said: