Questions about import Dreamcast and Powerboards

Menfa

Newb
Hello! This is my first time posting, I'm unsure if I should put this under Dreamcast modding or voltage, if I should repost elsewhere on this site please do tell.

I live in Australia (PAL) and I want to get a Dreamcast. I've been watching Dreamcast prices on Ebay for a while now, but the prices for a PAL unit are much more than an NTSC-J unit.

Should I buy a model 0 or 1 NTSC-J Dreamcast from "Buyee", burn a "Codebreaker" or equivalent iso to a CD-R, that lets me bypass region checking, and replace the powerboard instead? (Btw I say Buyee because I've heard its the best place to import Japanese stuff). My TV can read NTSC video signals so that's no problem, but would PAL games run too slow/fast doing this method?

I don't think getting my hands on a PAL Dreamcast powerboard would be possible/practical since there aren't any broken PAL Dreamcasts on ebay right now and normally ones listed an untested sell for almost as much as tested units. Nor are there any stand alone powerboards listed. I have 4 ideas on how to approach this, but I am not sure how possible they are:
  1. Mod the powerboard from the NTSC-J console so that it functions the same as a PAL console's powerboard. If all I would need to replace is resistors, capacitors, inductors or even make a custom PCB with a correct layout then this seems to be possible
  2. For my birthday someone bought me a 8000mAh charger battery that has two USB ports that outputs at 1.0A and 2.1A. I don't think that battery would work since USB ports normally output 5V and I think some parts of the Dreamcast use 12V
  3. I have a PAL model 1 Sega Saturn. Off the top of my head I can't remember if the powerboard is a type A or B...this might be useless for the Dreamcast, idk
  4. I think I heard something about a Dreamcast DC (As oppose to AC) power mod, that would be amazing if it actually exists :)
Thanks!