Pokemon Yellow Sprite Glitches/Not Saving After Battery Replacement

Hello,

This is my first time posting on a forum so I will try to be specific and thorough. Hopefully I am in the right section. I had seen another forum post on this website with a similar issue to mine, but no solution. Anyways here goes.

My wife had recently obtained a bunch of stuff she had as a kid. Among these items was a game boy advance and several games. One of these games was Pokemon Yellow. I was ecstatic, I popped the game in it wouldn't boot. No matter, I thought, I will just clean the contacts. This started a long series of attempted fixes.

After cleaning the contacts by gently rubbing them with a white eraser and then running over the contacts with 99% isopropyl alcohol i let the cartridge dry. When I popped it back in it booted up! hooray! or not...

So everything boots normally and the sound is there. I can start a new game, which i did, but the first thing I noticed is that right off the bat the sprite for professor oak has been replaced by a glitchy black box (im assuming the placeholder for if the correct sprite is not found). I kept playing and was able to name my character and my rival and the game progressed normally. The overworld sprites look fine, but when I enter a battle all the sprites for all of the characters as well as the pokemon are all replaced by glitchy boxes. the sprites in the pokedex listings are also this way. So then I think, maybe I didn't seat the cartridge correctly so I save the game and shut it down. I re-seat the cartridge and boot it back up, but my save is gone!