New here: How hard would it be to make a portable PS1?

I have some electronics experience, but only the basics (Electronics 1 in high school). I was actually thinking last night about how hard it would be and it seems the only hard thing would be the plastic shell (where the Heck could I get something like that?!), the battery, and the screen.

'Cause all it really is is putting a PS1 inside a smaller case, right? I can mount the buttons on the shell and solder the plug and socket (where you plug the controller in) together (or Heck, leave it together and just plug it in!). The screen would work similarly: solder the video and audio cords to the screen in the appropriate place. As for the battery, I dunno how I'd do that, especially with the transformer. Same with the disc drive. How could I do THAT?! Making it like the Wii where it slides in would be great, but probably not cost effective.

Also, how could I make a light indicator to tell when the battery is dying? It could even be something like the GameBoy Pocket where the power light would just fade. :p

I have a PS1, but I dunno if it would be worth it to take apart, considering I might not be able to do it. And how much would this probably run me? I don't have a lot of money, so I hope it wouldn't be too expensive. :sweat:

On an unrelated note, the :dah: emote is amazing.

haha i just came on to post this exact thread haha, (that is a great emote lol)
all id need is a basic guide if anything =/ and id use the smaller psone for mainly size =/ =D

I'd like to just point out this article. Both are very small, once you do away with the extra hardware. The biggest difference is that the phat does need a second voltage line. That can be done with some small components, though.