Modding SpongeBob: Battle for Bikini Bottom [SERIOUSLY COOL]

Discussion in 'Software & ROM Hacks' started by CPCookieMan, Nov 21, 2012.

1. CPCookieMan

CPCookieMan Member

Alright hello again everyone! I know I'm new to the site, but I'm no newbie to game modding. I (being one of them young modders) used to play SpongeBob Battle for Bikini Bottom (henceforth SB:BFBB) on my GameCube all the time, and it still remains on my top 3 list today. You guys mainly do hardware mods, but I figured you might enjoy a good software mod anyway. I was poking around inside the ISO here, and found some amazing stuff, so let's get started!

Step 1: Obtain a SB:BFBB ISO file.

Step 2: Grab GCReEx from here and extract it into it's own folder.

Step 3: In a command prompt, navigate to that folder and run 'GCReEx.exe -x game.iso' replacing game.iso with the full path to your ISO.

Step 4: Open up the folder it created and then the root folder inside of that one.

Now there's a lot of stuff in there, which includes all the maps. If anyone can figure out how to decode / edit those (I've thrown everything possible at them) I'll give you a cookie. What we really want is the sb.ini file. Here is my clean copy.

Tons of cool stuff in here, I'm going to highlight some of the best lines. I think the coolest thing about this is that they're almost all well commented by the original developers!

BOOT=HB00
    This line sets where the game boots to when a new game is started. This goes into root > hb > hb00. So if we wanted it to boot to Jellyfish Fields, you'd look in root > jf > jf01 and therefore the code you'd put in here would be BOOT=JF01. Coupled with ShowMenuOnBoot = 0, this is very good for debugging, as the game will start up directly into your chosen map.

G.TakeDamage = 1
    Setting this to 0 gives you godmode.

G.CheatFlyToggle = 0
    Now this one I haven't played around with much, I assume as with the other cheats in there you use the D-PAD to toggle fly.

G.InitialShinyCount = 0