Another RetroPie portable

Blargaman91

I'm putting this thread here somewhat as a placeholder for now. Just today I started designing a new case for the same RetroPie portable I built a while ago with an SL-53 from Polycase. This time, I wanted to 3D print it, although I've never done that before and do not have immediate access to a printer.

I don't know when I'll actually get to start building it, but I will surely reuse a lot of parts from the last one (which is still assembled but not working too well) so I hopefully won't have to wait for a bunch of things in the mail at any point.

The front case so far:
29cx4ar.png

Made using Autodesk Inventor. I might upload the file once it's done in case anyone wants look at it/use it. It is pretty simple.
Edit: I would love any suggestions regarding the design. I don't exactly know what I'm doing.

What printer do you think you'll be using? You may need to change some stuff about your build depending on the printer.

Yeah this might be a difficult print unless you cut the model up into pieces and assemble it afterwards. Most solid case parts are printed upside-down to save filament (wouldn't make sense to waste so much making supports if printed right side up) so that radius you have on the edges looks like it would turn out super grody.

If the printer you will eventually use has a big enough volume to print the desired size, i'd just make the front piece separate with no side depth and add in some grooves to notch the sides in place. If you are printing ABS you can melt some additional ABS plastic (from failed prints or other plastic cases I'm sure you've acquired over the years) and melt it in a glass jar to make a slurry type glue that will fuse it together like one solid piece.

Okay, thanks. I don't have a printer myself so I'm hoping to have someone print it for me. I've changed the design into a couple different 3D models so I can print the parts separately and there's no overhang.